Mulvin and Beirne score four bullets to lift Westerns plate

 Report 2: Mulvin & Beirne win the season finale and are Western Champions 

Despite a small fleet, there was some fantastic racing on Lough Derg this weekend with David Mulvin and Ronan Beirne winning the Western Championship by one point.

The result was uncertain up to the last race. Niall Meagher and Keith Poole were second and Bryan Willis and John McPeake were third. Most races saw the lead change hands at least twice if not three times and the fleet finished within minutes of each other. We also had the unique sight of a single hander on Sunday well done Ralf!


Winds were light for the weekend but LDYC made every effort to ensure that the full race programme of six races was completed. Five races were run on Saturday (eight hours on the water!) and one early on Sunday to allow everyone in to watch the rugby in plenty of time.

The event was run on two courses with three other fleets, the Dragons and SB20s on one course and the Flying Fifteens and Squibs on the second course. Having other the other fleets gave the venue a real buzz. 

The host club laid on some fantastic food and hospitality. All in all a most enjoyable weekend and LDYC have already confirmed that we’d be welcome back next year, so it seems our western Championship now has a new home.

Full results:

News Mulvin and Beirne score four bullets to lift Westerns plate