Dun Laoghaire Flying Fifteens

Welcome to the DLFF home page. Here, you'll find news, notices and updates for sailing on Dublin Bay, where Flying Fifteens form the largest one-design class.

See Photos for image galleries. See Afloat's FF Section for race reports. Want to crew? Register here!


Doorly & Green take first gun in Dun Laoghaire season opener

Chris Doorly and Alan Green in Frequent Flyer took the first gun of Dun Laoghaire's 2015 season last evening (April 23), with Mulvin and Beirne second and the Gormans third.

The Mitsibushi Motors-sponsored fleet turned out in good numbers, with 13 boats competing  on a beautiful sunny evening with a nice force 3 breeze from the S/SE.
Afloat.ie report  |   Full results

Dun Laoghaire Flying Fifteens announce new fleet sponsor for 2015

mitsulogo1One of Dublin Bay's most popular one design keelboat classes, the double-handed Flying Fifteen, has been boosted with news of a new fleet sponsor for the upcoming 2015 season.

The Dun Laoghaire Flying Fifteen Fleet, which is mainly based in the National Yacht Club, with over 25 registered boats, is delighted to announce that they are partnering with Mitsubishi Motors Ireland, in what promises to be another exciting season.


DBSC marks 2016

Dublin Bay racing marks, 2016


Ward Phillips R.I.P.

Long-time Fifteen sailor Ward Phillips has passed away.

Ward will be remembered sailing his boat "Black Magic".  He was always there to assist the fleet with launch and recovery, with the administration and as recently as the East Coasts last September.

Ward organised the East Coasts for many years.

Sympathy to his wife Joan and family.


Video: Fifteens in Dalkey Sound

Four Fifteen teams headed out to a blustery and almost deserted Dublin Bay yesterday (Oct 26), desperate for some sailing action after recent cancellations due to high winds. 

DLFFer Robin Hilliard captured their passage through Dalkey Sound, with a little broaching drama thrown in.

The race, kindly started at the bandstand by Ian Mathews, was won by Conor and Peter Cronin, who overtook two competitors on the return leg.