Dun Laoghaire Flying Fifteens

Welcome to the DLFF home page. Here, you'll find news, notices and updates for sailing on Dublin Bay, where Flying Fifteens form the largest one-design class.

See Photos for image galleries. See Afloat's FF Section for race reports. Want to crew? Register here!


Race report: Betty back in business in close racing (with video)

Dave Gorman and Chris Doorly returned to winning ways on Dublin Bay at the weekend (May 30th), with two firsts in close-fought contests.

Tom and Eamon Galvin continued their fine run of form with two seconds, while Ian Mathews and Keith Poole were third in Race 1 with Ben Mulligan and Alan Green taking third in Race 2. 

Read on below to see a video of the downwind leg as seen by Joe Coughlan and Andy Marshall in Ash.

Afloat.ie report   |   Full results 


Race report: Mulligan and Doorly best in gusty Dublin Bay

Ben Mulligan and Chris Doorly in Frequent Flyer took the gun in a 13-boat fleet sailing in gusty Dublin Bay last evening (May 28th).

Dave Mulvin and Ronan Beirne were in second, with Niall Coleman and Mick Quinn, who still lead the series, in third. 

Afloat.ie report    |    Full results

Race report: Mulligan and Green win on the double in 19-boat fleet

Ben Mulligan with Alan Green crewing took top spot in both Dublln Bay races on Saturday (May 23), with 19 boats competing in beautiful weather as summer finally arrived. 

Afloat.ie report   |   Full results

Race report: Guest helm Craig steers Frequent Flyer to victory

Guest helm Sean Craig, sailing with Alan Green, won  Thursday's (May 15th) DBSC race from Dave Gorman & Chris Doorly, with Dave Mulvin & Ronan Beirne third. Once again there was a great turnout of 17 Flying Fifteens, on a tricky evening with a strong incoming tide and a light easterly breeze.

Only eight of the 17 managed to finish, after the wind died on the upwind leg against the tide, with those timed out marked down as 'Did Not Compete' in the official results.

Afloat report   |  Full results

Race report: Burgess & Maguire emerge winners from Dublin Bay confusion

Frank Burgess and Justin Maguire took victory in the second race of Saturday's (May 9) DBSC series, after it was restarted over a phantom gybe mark. Ian Mathews and Keith Poole won the first race. 

Afloat.ie report   |   Full results