Dun Laoghaire Flying Fifteens

Welcome to the DLFF home page. Here, you'll find news, notices and updates for sailing on Dublin Bay, where Flying Fifteens form the largest one-design class.

See Photos for image galleries. See Afloat's FF Section for race reports. Want to crew? Register here!


Race report: Doorly & Green back with a bang

Chris Doorly and Alan Green, quickly back on the water after being holed in the Dun Laoghaire Regatta,  took a convincing first place in DBSC racing last night (Thursday, July 23).

Alan Dooley and Joe Hickey finished second, with Mick McCambridge and Gabriel Greer taking third, on a night of light winds and strong tide that made for  some interesting times at the marks.

Full results   |   Afloat report

Mathews and Poole lift DL Regatta trophy

Ian Mathews and Keith Poole of the National YC topped the FF leader board at the Volvo Dun Laoghaire Regatta, held Thursday to Sunday, July 9-12, with no fewer than six bullets in the 10-race series, and with seven points to spare. 

Niall Coleman, also of NYC, came in second overall, with Charlie Boland of Waterford Harbour SC taking third.  

Full results 


Race report: Colman & Quinn come from behind to take Thursday gun

Niall Coleman and Mick Quinn came from behind to win last night's (July 3) DBSC race, with John O'Sullivan and Ben Mulligan second, and Alan Green and Chris Doorly third, on a balmy evening in the bay.

Afloat report    |   Full results

Race report: Betty on the double, but Murphy leads Series 2

dbsc flagDave Gorman and Chris Doorly coped best with unsteady breezes on Saturday (June 27), to win both races, but strong performances by Tom Murphy and crew put him in top spot in after two weeks of Series 2.

Afloat.ie report   |   Full results

Race report: Gruffalo and Frequent Flyer take DBSC guns

It's for days like this that we sail, a sunny afternoon (Sat June 20) with a nice force 3/4 on excellent Flying Fifteen DBSC courses set by Suzanne McGarry and her team on Freebird.

There were two races, the first a windward leeward course won by Ian Mathews & Keith Poole in Gruffalo and the second an Olympic triangle course won by Alan Green & Chris Doorly in Frequent Flyer.

Afloat.ie report   |    Full results